WhatsApp New Feature ‘View Once’ That Allows Users To Send Disappearing Photos, Videos

0

WhatsApp Beta users are currently testing a brand new feature where attached images or videos disappear after one viewing – similar to Snaps on Snapchat.

The WhatsApp feature allows users to send photos and videos that will disappear after viewing, which is helpful for confidential business chats, for example.

The feature has been rolled out to WhatsApp beta testers on Android, with plans to expand it to the general public if successful.

WABetaInfo reports that there are currently some disadvantages to the new feature. If the recipient takes a screenshot of their phone, the image will stay after the auto-delete. Moreover, even if you have disabled read receipts, the sender can still see if you have viewed a photograph or video. And, blocked contacts can still see single-use attachments if they’re a part of a standard group.

In addition, you can send a View Once image or clip to a whole group, not just to an individual. There is no word on when this new feature will be rolled out globally or if it will be available on iOS or desktop. However, it seems like a handy feature when it does eventually arrive.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.